Big 5 Awards for the 2012-2013 Season

The Big 5 managed to get Villanova, Temple, and La Salle into the NCAA Tournament this season. These 3 teams combined for 4 wins, 3 coming from La Salle. After a super successful year of basketball in Philadelphia, it is time to give out awards.

Player of the Year: Khalif Wyatt, SG (Temple)

Wyatt also won A-10 POY.

Any old basketball fan could see Wyatt had this award. Wyatt finished first in the Big 5 and A-10 and 12th in Division 1 in scoring with 19.8 PPG. He also managed to lead Temple in assists with just over 4 assists per game.

After an astonishing regular season, Wyatt shined brightest when it mattered most: the NCAA Tournament. Wyatt scored 31 points in both games, leading Temple to a second round victory over NC State and a close Round of 32 to 1st-seeded Indiana. Hats off to Wyatt for his dominant play.

Coach of the Year: Dr. John Giavanni (La Salle)

Not an easy award to give out with so many talented coaches, especially ‘Nova’s Jay Wright and Temple’s Fran Dunphy. It was Giavanni, though, who shined the most in crunch time. After posting a 14-16 mark just two years ago, La Salle managed to make a run to the Sweet 16 this year. Giavanni lead an undersized and overachieving team to an impressive 11-5 mark in a strong Atlantic 10.

Defensive Player of the Year: C.J. Aiken, PF/C (Saint Josephs’s)

Although expectations were higher for both the Hawks and Aiken, both the team and the player had a good year. Aiken was awesome on defense, blocking 2.6 shots per game. The 6’9″ junior also averaged 0.5 SPG and 5.5 RPG. An even better Senior year is coming for C.J. Aiken.

Arcidiacono shoots a thee pointer.

Freshman of the Year: Ryan Arcidiacono, G (Villanova)

Arcidiacono helped lead an underachieving Villanova team to a 9 seed in the NCAA tournament. The freshman lead Villanova in assists (3.5 APG) and finished second in points (12.0 PPG). He was also an active defender, averaging 1 steal per game. Not many freshman come in and make such an impact right away.

Sixth Man of the Year: Jake O’Brien, F (Temple)

A senior transfer from Boston University, O’Brien did not receive much playing time until the end of the year when he began starting. His 3-point shooting (43%) allowed Temple to space the floor and he had enough height to rebound and defend opposing bigs. O’Brien averaged a sweet 9.3 points and 3.3 rebounds in only 20 minutes per game.

Comeback Player of the Year: Scootie Randall, G/F (Temple)

After missing all of last season and half of the 2010-2011 season with leg issues, Randall returned and became Temple’s second leading scorer. Randall averaged 11.3 PPG and over 6 RPG.

Garland’s famous Southwest Philly Floater.

Transfer of the Year: Tyrone Garland, G (La Salle)

After hitting the infamous “Southwest Philly Floater” to send La Salle to the Sweet 16, Garland secured the award. His scoring boosted from 4.6 PPG at Virginia Tech to 13.1 PPG this season at La Salle.

Best Team: La Salle Explorers

After sharing a Big 5 season crown with Temple, La Salle transformed into the best with a huge run in the NCAA tournament from First 4 to Sweet 16 with wins over Boise State, Kansas State, and Ole Miss.’s All Big 5 teams:

First Team All-Big 5:

Khalif Wyatt, Temple

Ramon Galloway, La Salle

JayVaughn Pinkston, Villanova

Miles Cartwright, Penn

Langston Galloway, St. Josephs

Second Team All-Big 5:

Scootie Randall, Temple

Mouphtaou Yarou, Villanova

Ryan Arcidicano, Villanova

Tyreek Duren, La Salle

Carl Jones, St. Joseph’s

Third Team All-Big 5:

Ronald Roberts Jr., St. Joseph’s

Tyrone Garland, La Salle

C.J. Aiken, St. Joseph’s

Anthony Lee, Temple

Halil Kanacevic, St. Joseph’s


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: CBB, La Salle, Penn, Saint Joseph's, Temple, Villanova

Author:Aaron Dickman

I am currently a high school student at Harriton. I am a huge basketball fan.

Subscribe & Share!

Subscribe to our updates to be the first to know about breaking news, interesting opinions and more in the Philadelphia sports world.

2 Comments on “Big 5 Awards for the 2012-2013 Season”

  1. July 6, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Was surfing around and found your site. Aaron, Keep up the good work. A heads up that La Salle’s coach is Dr. John Giannini (not Giavanni), but overall I found the article entertaining and agree with many of your selections. Best of luck and look forward to reading your stuff in the future.

    Chris DiSano, President, and Atlantic 10 analyst for Cox Sports Television.

  2. Daniel Cohn
    April 21, 2013 at 12:06 am #


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: